ANTONIO’S CHAIN

1952

In the spring of 1952, at the Port of Montreal, a crowd of onlookers gathered around the railroad tracks. Montreal’s longshoremen knew what was coming. The day before they finished their work, their gigantic colleague Antonio had told them in a singsong accent: “You’re invited to the Clock Tower Pier, tomorrow at 2 p.m., to see the most amazing thing you’ve ever seen in your life.” Some were intrigued by the colourful invitation and others were too scared to refuse; in the end, most of them found a discreet way to be there.

Antonio arrived with a long iron chain around his neck and hooked it on the front of the first car. Before the spectators’ astonished eyes, he pulled the 433-ton train over a distance of 19.8 m. Hooray! He won his first Guinness World Record to the applause of the longshoremen who were impressed by his feat.

Antonio was quite the character. Originally from Siberia or Yugoslavia, he came to Montreal by boat in 1946, when he was around 20 years old. Starting out as a longshoreman, the mysterious colossus took on a variety of heavy-duty jobs in construction and at the Port of Montreal. He immediately stood out for his size and especially for his great strength. Described with numbers, Antonio was 1.96 m tall, ate 25 whole chickens in one meal and weighed 210 kilos. But what defined him most of all, was his famous world record that launched his career as the Great Antonio, the last of the gentle giants.

UNCOVER THE 4 HIDDEN OBJECTS AND THEIR STORIES

Contact Us

LA CHAÎNE D’ANTONIO

1952

Au printemps 1952, dans le port de Montréal, un attroupement de curieux se forme autour de la voie ferrée. Les débardeurs de Montréal savent bien ce qui se prépare. Le jour avant qu’ils finissent leur travail, leur gigantesque collègue Antonio leur a déclaré avec un accent chantant : « Demain à 14 h, au Quai de l’horloge, je vous donne rendez-vous pour voir la chose la plus extraordinaire que vous avez vue de votre vie. » Certains sont intrigués par l’invitation très colorée et d’autres, trop intimidés pour refuser : la majorité trouve donc un subterfuge discret pour être au rendez-vous.

Antonio arrive avec une longue chaîne en fer autour de son cou et l’accroche à la tête du premier des wagons. Devant les yeux ébahis des spectateurs, il tire le train de 433 tonnes sur une distance de 19,8 m. Hourra! Il remporte son premier record mondial Guinness sous les applaudissements des débardeurs, impressionnés par sa prouesse.

Il faut dire qu’Antonio est tout un personnage! Originaire de la Sibérie ou de la Yougoslavie, il arrive à Montréal par bateau en 1946, alors qu’il est âgé d’environ 20 ans. Débutant comme débardeur, ce mystérieux colosse multiplie les boulots pénibles en construction et dans le port de Montréal. Il se démarque par son gabarit et surtout par sa grande force. Antonio, en chiffres, c’est 1,96 m de hauteur, 25 poulets entiers ingurgités en un seul repas, 210 kilos… Mais ce qui le définit surtout, c’est ce fameux record mondial qui lancera sa carrière du Grand Antonio, le dernier des bons géants.

DÉCOUVREZ LES 4 OBJETS CACHÉS ET LEUR HISTORIQUE